Anish AgrawalJuly 24, 20236min0

Cricketers Who Bestow Their Names Upon Indian Domestic Trophies

Players after whom the Indian domestic trophies are named _ 18 Jul

Within the realm of Indian cricket, where greatness echoes through the ages, reside some of the most prestigious trophies that epitomize the sport’s heritage. The illustrious Ranji Trophy, Duleep Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy, and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy all bear the names of iconic cricketers who left an indelible mark on the game in India.

These trophies stand as tributes to the immense contributions these players made to Indian cricket. Their pioneering spirit and exceptional achievements laid the very foundation for the triumphs that have graced Indian cricket in recent times.

1) Ranji Trophy – Honoring Kumar Shri Ranjitsinhji (Jam Sahib of Nawanagar)

The prestigious Ranji Trophy, the pinnacle of India’s first-class cricket, pays homage to none other than Kumar Shri Ranjitsinhji, the trailblazer of Indian cricket. Born in 1872, Ranji was a captivating batsman whose grace and elegance on the field resembled that of an artist. His mesmerizing displays for Sussex in county cricket earned him a spot in the English Test team, making him the first Indian to don the Test cap.

Beyond his playing days, Ranji’s passion for the game ignited a flame of enthusiasm among budding cricketers in India, nurturing talent across the nation. Instituted in 1934, the Ranji Trophy stands as a glorious celebration of the cricketing spirit and the unwavering passion he instilled in generations to come.

2) Duleep Trophy – Saluting Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji (Duleep Singh)

Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji, the nephew of Ranji, was another prodigious batting maestro who graced the cricketing world with his elegance. His fluid strokeplay and impeccable technique earned him accolades both in England and India. Notably, Duleep Singh’s sublime knock of 173 for Sussex against the touring Australians in 1928 remains etched in cricketing folklore as one of the finest displays of batting prowess.

Established in 1961, the Duleep Trophy proudly honors his contributions by providing a platform for young talents to showcase their skills against formidable opposition, ensuring that his legacy endures through the ages.

3) Irani Cup – Commemorating Z.R. Irani (Zal Irani)

The revered Irani Cup, an integral fixture in Indian cricket, was christened in honor of the diligent Zal Irani, who devoted over six decades to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Irani’s unwavering dedication and tireless efforts in promoting the game endeared him to the cricketing fraternity, making him a beloved figure in the sport.

Inaugurated in 1959 to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Ranji Trophy, the Irani Cup symbolizes the camaraderie between the Ranji Trophy champions and the Rest of India team, an emblem of Zal Irani’s selfless contributions to the sport.

4) Vijay Hazare Trophy – Saluting Vijay Samuel Hazare

Vijay Hazare, an extraordinary batsman, and a true team player, etched an irreplaceable mark on India’s cricketing journey in the post-independence era. Revered for his solid defense and ability to thrive under pressure, Hazare’s leadership skills came to the fore when he led India to its maiden Test series triumph against Australia in 1959.

Initiated in 2002, the Vijay Hazare Trophy serves as a tribute to his remarkable achievements, offering a stage for state teams to compete and exemplifying the unity he fostered through the sport.

5) Deodhar Trophy – Honoring Prof. D.B. Deodhar (Dattaram Bhaskar Deodhar)

The Deodhar Trophy, bearing the name of D.B. Deodhar, stands as a testament to the indomitable spirit and visionary genius of this legendary cricketer. An accomplished batsman, shrewd cricket administrator, and coach, Deodhar played a pivotal role in shaping cricket infrastructure in India and guiding the careers of aspiring cricketers.

Inaugurated in 1973, the tournament stands as a befitting tribute to his immense contributions to Indian cricket, providing a platform for young talents to showcase their potential on the national stage.

In the annals of Indian cricket, these domestic trophies not only celebrate the achievements of legendary players but also provide an avenue for emerging talents to shine, keeping the spirit of the game alive and thriving. As the years roll on, the names behind these trophies will continue to inspire generations of cricketers, fostering an enduring legacy of excellence in Indian cricket.

Anish Agrawal

Hi, I am Anish Agrawal and I am the lead cricket journalist for Cricnews. I have been a sports journalist for the past 7 years and have experience covering all major cricket tournaments. My favourite tournament is the IPL and I am a big supporter of the Mumbai Indians.

About us

Established in 2023, Cricnews is one of the leading cricket websites which provides cricket content. Our mission is to deliver the latest news, analysis, match reports, and exclusive insights to cricket enthusiasts worldwide. As avid fans ourselves, we understand the passion and excitement that cricket ignites. With a team of experienced journalists and cricket experts, we strive to deliver accurate and engaging content that caters to the diverse interests of our readers.


Are you looking to colaborate or do you want to leave a comment, suggestion or question?

Feel free to reach out to us through our contact from.