Ben ArmfieldJuly 17, 20234min0

Pioneering Indian Cricket Captains Preceding Kapil Dev’s Era

Indian cricket captains before Kapil Dev's era _ 17 Jul

The era of Kapil Dev in Indian cricket is one steeped in glory, marked by the historic 1983 World Cup victory, where India famously overcame the formidable West Indies. Kapil Dev’s charismatic leadership sparked a sea change in Indian cricket, fostering unity, audacity, and self-confidence in the team, and transforming them into a global powerhouse.

Though Kapil Dev’s era stands as a turning point in Indian cricket history, it’s vital to recognize the noteworthy captains that helmed the Indian team prior to his tenure. Their contributions laid the groundwork for the team’s subsequent successes.

Sunil Gavaskar

The 1970s saw Sunil Gavaskar captaining the Indian cricket team through a period riddled with challenges. His leadership proved instrumental in manoeuvring the team through this transitional phase, bolstering its performance, and instilling a never-say-die attitude in the players. Under his captaincy, India played 47 Test matches (W-9, L-8), and 38 One Day Internationals (ODIs) (W-14, L-19).

Bishan Singh Bedi

Taking over from Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi, Bishan Singh Bedi significantly shaped India’s spin bowling tradition. His mentorship fostered many gifted spinners, imprinting an enduring pride in spin bowling in India. Bedi’s captaincy encompassed 22 Test matches, with six victories and 11 defeats.

Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi

An iconic figure in Indian cricket, Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi’s captaincy heralded transformative changes in the sport’s history in the country. His leadership and charisma, combined with a winning mindset, strong advocacy for players’ rights, and the ability to merge traditional and modern cricketing strategies, made his tenure remarkable. Pataudi led India in 40 tests, with a win percentage of 22.50.

Ajit Wadekar

Under Ajit Wadekar’s leadership, India clinched its maiden Test series win overseas in 1971 against the West Indies and England. This momentous achievement was a game-changer, instilling in the team a belief in their capabilities against formidable opponents. Wadekar’s stint as a captain spanned over 16 Tests, with four wins and eight draws.

Lala Amarnath

With the distinction of being the inaugural captain of the Indian cricket team post-independence in 1947, Lala Amarnath holds a special place in Indian cricket. His guidance during the turbulent post-colonial phase provided stability, directing the course of Indian cricket in the newly independent nation.

These trailblazing captains paved the way for Kapil Dev’s epoch, etching their indelible marks on Indian cricket history. Each contributed to the metamorphosis of the team, fostering the spirit of resilience, self-confidence, and passion that became its defining characteristics.

Ben Armfield

My name is Ben Armfield and I am from Melbourne, Australia. I have been covering international cricket tournaments as a sports journalist since 2016. I am writing all the international cricket news for Cricnews and know all there is about national teams, players and auctions. I have been following the Big Bash League since I was a child and have been a huge fan of the Melbourne Stars ever since.

About us

Established in 2023, Cricnews is one of the leading cricket websites which provides cricket content. Our mission is to deliver the latest news, analysis, match reports, and exclusive insights to cricket enthusiasts worldwide. As avid fans ourselves, we understand the passion and excitement that cricket ignites. With a team of experienced journalists and cricket experts, we strive to deliver accurate and engaging content that caters to the diverse interests of our readers.


Are you looking to colaborate or do you want to leave a comment, suggestion or question?

Feel free to reach out to us through our contact from.