Anish AgrawalJuly 3, 20236min0

50 Years of ICC ODI World Cup

50 Years of ICC ODI World Cup _ 3 Jul

The International Cricket Council is responsible for the administration, development, and promotion of cricket at the international level. Founded in June 1909, the ICC focuses on the development of cricket globally, particularly in emerging cricket nations. 

It provides support and assistance to member countries to improve infrastructure, coaching, and administration. The ICC has been responsible for organizing major cricket tournaments such as the ICC Cricket World Cup, ICC T20 World Cup, and ICC Champions Trophy.

There have been moments in the past when the ICC has changed the future of international cricket. One of the biggest turning points took place in 1975 when the ICC conducted the first-ever ODI World Cup. The idea of a global tournament for ODI cricket was first proposed by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) in 1969. 

The inaugural Cricket World Cup was held in 1975 in England with the objective of popularizing the shorter format of the game and attracting a wider audience. The tournament featured eight teams: Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and East Africa (a combined team representing Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zambia).

However, very few cricket fans are aware that the event came into existence because of women’s cricket. In 1973, the ICC organized the first-ever Women’s ODI World Cup, which took place in England and was won by the hosts. The participating teams included Australia, England, New Zealand, Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, and an International XI team made up of players from various countries.

July 2023 will mark the 50th anniversary of the first ODI World Cup for the International Cricket Council. Since its inception, the ODI World Cup for both genders has been held at regular intervals of four years, with the number of participating teams gradually increasing. The tournament has witnessed several memorable moments, such as the emergence of iconic players, thrilling matches, and captivating performances.

ICC ODI World Cup – Men

The first Men’s Cricket World Cup was held in 1975 in England, just two years after the inaugural Women’s World Cup. It was the first global tournament of its kind in men’s cricket and aimed to popularize the ODI format, which had gained popularity in the preceding years. Since its inception, the Men’s Cricket World Cup has witnessed various iconic moments, remarkable performances, and intense rivalries.

The tournament has grown significantly in stature and is now one of the most-watched sporting events globally. The number of participating teams has increased over the years, and the format has evolved to include different stages like Super Sixes, Super Eights, and the current format featuring a group stage followed by knockout matches.

Australia has clearly showcased its dominance in the 50-over format by winning five ODI World Cups (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015). In these 50 years, the Aussies have produced some of the best players in international cricket, and every year the team improves their quality in all formats of cricket.

ICC ODI World Cup – Women

The first Women’s Cricket World Cup was held in 1973 in England, two years before the inaugural Men’s World Cup. The tournament was organized by the International Women’s Cricket Council (IWCC), the precursor to the ICC for women’s cricket. The 1973 Women’s World Cup featured six teams: Australia, England, New Zealand, Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, and an International XI team comprising players from various countries. 

The tournament followed a round-robin format, with each team playing against each other once. The top two teams from the group stage advanced to the final. The final was held between England and Australia, and the host nation lifted the first ODI World Cup trophy.

Australia has dominated the Women’s ODI World Cup as well, winning it seven times (1978, 1982, 1988, 1997, 2005, 2013, 2022).

Anish Agrawal

Hi, I am Anish Agrawal and I am the lead cricket journalist for Cricnews. I have been a sports journalist for the past 7 years and have experience covering all major cricket tournaments. My favourite tournament is the IPL and I am a big supporter of the Mumbai Indians.

About us

Established in 2023, Cricnews is one of the leading cricket websites which provides cricket content. Our mission is to deliver the latest news, analysis, match reports, and exclusive insights to cricket enthusiasts worldwide. As avid fans ourselves, we understand the passion and excitement that cricket ignites. With a team of experienced journalists and cricket experts, we strive to deliver accurate and engaging content that caters to the diverse interests of our readers.


Are you looking to colaborate or do you want to leave a comment, suggestion or question?

Feel free to reach out to us through our contact from.