Anish AgrawalJuly 27, 20236min0

Top Five Super Over Performances in Cricket

Top 5 Super Over Performances in the History of Cricket _ 27 Jul

A cricket match always gets exciting if it reaches the Super Over scenario. A Super Over is a tie-breaking method used in international cricket to determine the winner of a limited-overs match (One Day Internationals – ODIs or Twenty20 Internationals – T20Is) in case the main match ends in a tie. 

The team that batted second in the main match will bat first in the Super Over. The batting side aims to score as many runs as possible within the 6 balls. The opposing team then gets their chance to chase the target set by the batting side in the Super Over. 

They also have 6 balls to score. The team that scores more runs in the Super Over is declared the winner of the match.

It is an exciting and nail-biting way to resolve tied matches in cricket, ensuring a decisive outcome. In this article, we have compiled a list of 5 players who have registered their best performance in the super over.

Rohit Sharma vs New Zealand

During India vs. New Zealand 3rd T20 International match on January 29, 2020, Rohit Sharma, the Indian opening batsman, played a crucial inning. India batted first and scored 179/5 in their 20 overs. Rohit Sharma top-scored with 65 runs, and captain Virat Kohli contributed 38 runs. 

In response, New Zealand also scored 179/6 in their 20 overs. Colin Munro was the leading run-scorer with 64 runs. During the super over, Rohit Sharma scored 15 runs in 4 balls at a strike rate of 375. His innings included 2 maximums. Team India scored a win with the help of Rohit’s innings.

Logan van Beek vs West Indies

In the recently held ICC World Cup Qualifiers tournament, Logan Van Beek from the Netherlands stunned everyone while playing against West Indies. Batting first, West Indies scored 374 runs and all thanks to the solid innings played by Brandon King and Nicholas Pooran. In reply, the Netherlands gave their best performance and tied the score. Teja Nidamanuru (111 off 76) and Scott Edwards (67 off 47) played the most valuable innings. 

During the Super Over, Netherlands batted first and Logan Van Beek scored 30 runs in all 6 balls. His innings included 3 fours and 3 maximums. West Indies was unable to achieve the target and hence Netherlands won the fixture.

Sunil Narine vs Trinidad and Tobago

Sunil Narine is one of the most demanded players in the T20 cricket leagues across the globe. During his stint in Caribbean Premier League, Nariine achieved a record that might not be broken ever in the history of cricket. 

During a fixture between Amazon Guyana Warriors and Trinidad and Tobago, the scores ended up as a tie. Sunil Narine, who is part of Amazon Guyana Warriors, came to bowl and did a stunning job by bowling off spins that were unplayable for the opposition. 

The first four balls remained unplayable, the fifth ball was a wicket and the last ball was also a dot. Hence Narine became the only bowler to bowl a maiden Super Over.

Yusuf Pathan vs Kolkata Knight Riders

This was the first-ever Super Over of the Indian Premier League. In the 2009 season of IPL, a match ended up with equal scores between Kolkata Knight Riders and Rajasthan Royals. 

KKR came to bat first and scored 15 runs in the Super Over. For Rajasthan Royals, Yusuf Pathan came to bat and scored 18 runs in just four balls and helped the Royals to score a much-needed win in the tournament.

Chris Gayle vs New Zealand

The list won’t be completed without mentioning the Universal boss Chris Gayle in it. West Indies vs New Zealand in 2008 witnessed the first-ever super over in international cricket. Batting first, New Zealand scored 155 in 20 overs. 

In reply, West Indies managed to equalize the score and the major contribution was from Chris Gayle. During the Super Over, Gayle smashed three sixes and a four on the spin bowling of Vittori and overall West Indies scored 25 runs. New Zealand was unable to surpass the visitors during their turn to bat in the Super Over.

Anish Agrawal

Hi, I am Anish Agrawal and I am the lead cricket journalist for Cricnews. I have been a sports journalist for the past 7 years and have experience covering all major cricket tournaments. My favourite tournament is the IPL and I am a big supporter of the Mumbai Indians.

About us

Established in 2023, Cricnews is one of the leading cricket websites which provides cricket content. Our mission is to deliver the latest news, analysis, match reports, and exclusive insights to cricket enthusiasts worldwide. As avid fans ourselves, we understand the passion and excitement that cricket ignites. With a team of experienced journalists and cricket experts, we strive to deliver accurate and engaging content that caters to the diverse interests of our readers.


Are you looking to colaborate or do you want to leave a comment, suggestion or question?

Feel free to reach out to us through our contact from.