Anish AgrawalMay 4, 20237min0

IPL 2023: All Orange Cap Winners in IPL

Orange Cap Winners IPL

IPL 2023 is underway, and with each game, the tournament becomes increasingly exciting and thrilling. Since its inception in 2008, the IPL has consistently entertained cricket fans, with talented players setting new records year after year.

One of the most prestigious individual awards in the tournament is the Orange Cap, which is awarded to the batsman who scores the highest number of runs in the competition. Every year, a new name emerges as the frontrunner for the Orange Cap, showcasing their exceptional batting skills and dominance in the tournament.

The Orange cap has seen some well-deserving names since 2008. The batters not only helped their respective teams to score wins but also gave a huge push to their international careers.

We have compiled a list of all the Orange Cap winners who made headlines with their ferocious batting every season.

Full List of Orange Cap Winners

Since the inception of the IPL in 2008, we have had 15 Orange Cap winners. Check out the full list below.

1) Jos Buttler – IPL 2022

It was only last year that Jos Buttler and Rajasthan Royals made headlines with their exceptional quality of cricket. The English batsman scored 863 runs at a strike rate of 149.05 with an average of 57.53. In almost every game, Buttler gave RR a solid start and helped them to reach the final game.

2) Ruturaj Gaikwad – IPL 2021

IPL always helps young talent to knock on the doors of the selectors and this is what Ruturaj Gaikwad did in 2021. He became the highest scorer with 635 runs at a strike rate of 136.26 and an average of 45.35. He not only earned the Orange Cap but also got a call for the senior team in T20 and ODI formats.

3) KL Rahul – IPL 2020

While playing for Punjab Kings, KL Rahul gave a huge push to his career in IPL 2020. He scored 670 runs at a strike rate of 129.34 and an average of 55.83. His credentials are still strong and even after consecutive failures, the selection committee is giving him time to bounce back from a rough patch.

4) David Warner – IPL 2019

David Warner has a separate fan base in India and he is one of the most admired cricketers across the globe. Warner made headlines in IPL in 2019 as he became the highest scorer with 692 runs at a strike rate of 143.87 and an average of 69.2. His story with SRH was a bad ending but Warner is still a ferocious batsman.

5) Kane Williamson – IPL 2018

Kane Williamson is absent from IPL 2023 because of his injury but the Kiwi batter was one of the most impactful players in 2018 while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad. He scored 735 runs at a strike rate of 142.44 and an average of 58.27. He is now part of Gujarat Titans but has been ruled out of the season due to injury.

6) David Warner – IPL 2017

David Warner’s second triumph to glory was in 2017 while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad. He earned his second Orange Cap by scoring 641 runs at a strike rate of 141.81 and an average of 58.27. Warner’s aggressive style of batting helped SRH a lot in the past.

7) Virat Kohli – IPL 2016

Virat Kohli is the greatest batsman of his generation and he is still making new records in international cricket. Kohli made a mark in IPL in 2016 when he scored 973 runs at a strike rate of 152.03 and an average of 81.08. The number achieved by Kohli is a record and it has not been broken to date.

8) David Warner – IPL 2015

There is a reason why David Warner is known for his style of batting when it comes to IPL. That reason is his three Orange Caps and that makes him the only player to achieve the fleet. In 2015, Warner scored 562 runs at a strike rate of 156.64 and an average of 43.23.

9) Robin Uthappa – IPL 2014

Robin Uthappa, who was once an influential middle-order batsman in Indian cricket, recently announced his retirement from all forms of the game. In 2014, Uthappa showcased his exceptional batting skills and claimed the Orange Cap by scoring an impressive 660 runs at a strike rate of 137.78 and an average of 44.

10) Michael Hussey – IPL 2013

Australian cricket has always made a huge impact in IPL with a large number of Australian cricketers actively participating in the tournament. In 2013, Australia’s most impactful batsman, Micheal Hussey, won the Orange Cap by scoring 733 runs at a strike rate of 129.5 and an average of 52.35.

11) Chris Gayle – IPL 2012

Without a doubt, Chris Gayle is the most dreaded batsman when it comes to the T20 format. In 2012, Gayle earned his second Orange Cap with a total score of 733 runs at a strike rate of 160.74 and an average of 61.08.

12) Chris Gayle – IPL 2011

Chris Gayle’s first Orange Cap came in 2011 as he scored 608 runs at a strike rate of 183.13 and an average of 67.55.

13) Sachin Tendulkar – IPL 2010

Mumbai Indians are one of the strongest teams in IPL and this is because they have the guidance of God himself, Sachin Tendulkar. Sachin won his Orange Cap in IPL 2010 by scoring 618 runs at a strike rate of 132.6 and an average of 47.53.

14) Matthew Hayden – IPL 2009

Another Australian batsman who made it to the big list is Matthew Hayden. In the second year of IPL, Hayden scored 572 runs at a strike rate of 144.81 and an average of 52.

15) Shaun Marsh – IPL 2008

Shaun Marsh was one of the most ferocious batsmen of his era. He also made an impact in IPL by winning an Orange Cap in 2008 by scoring 616 runs at a strike rate of 139.68 and an average of 68.44.

Anish Agrawal

Hi, I am Anish Agrawal and I am the lead cricket journalist for Cricnews. I have been a sports journalist for the past 7 years and have experience covering all major cricket tournaments. My favourite tournament is the IPL and I am a big supporter of the Mumbai Indians.

About us

Established in 2023, Cricnews is one of the leading cricket websites which provides cricket content. Our mission is to deliver the latest news, analysis, match reports, and exclusive insights to cricket enthusiasts worldwide. As avid fans ourselves, we understand the passion and excitement that cricket ignites. With a team of experienced journalists and cricket experts, we strive to deliver accurate and engaging content that caters to the diverse interests of our readers.


Are you looking to colaborate or do you want to leave a comment, suggestion or question?

Feel free to reach out to us through our contact from.